Facebook is the target of a virus that gives access to the passwords of users and publish videos on their profile and those of their friends.

To see the video, you are prompted to download a plug-in on a third party site.

Once the software is installed, it can access all the information stored in the Web browser used, including usernames and registered password.

As more people register their password in their browser to not have to enter it each time you connect a large number of Facebook users are at risk of being hacked their account.

And not just their Facebook but all other accounts where the password is stored in the browser account.

Installing a plug-in to view a Facebook video

The method used to propagate the virus is not new for users.

Many attacks occur through a publication that appears in Facebook profiles when the user clicks on a link to the content. It is often enough to click on Like, Share of video or install a module to unintentionally trigger the spread of virus.

The publication will automatically appear on your wall as if you were the author, and sometimes on the news feed of your friends.

This time, the post is automatically published as a video. To view it, you must install a plug-in Web browser. It is redirected to another site to download it, which actually contains a virus and not a plug-in to play the video.

Once installed, the malware can access information stored in the browser such as usernames and passwords.

What to do if you are the victim?

Perform a scan of your system

With your antivirus and protection suite, perform a full scan of your system and follow the instructions to remove malicious files if any.

Uninstall the plug-in

If you think you have downloaded the malicious program that is installed on your browser, you can uninstall it manually by accessing the add-ons for your browser.

  • With Mozilla Firefox : Go to the Tools tab and add-ons.
  • With Google Chrome : click the controls, select Tools and Extensions.
  • With Internet Explorer : click on the cogwheel and select Manage Modules.

Remove all modules, extensions, plug-in that you do not recognize or that seems suspicious.

Change your passwords

For security, change the passwords for accounts that are stored on your browser, for example, your email account, Facebook, Twitter, etc..

At the same time, you can take the opportunity to choose a new password with a high level of security.

Be careful!

Staying alert is the best advice I can give. We can inadvertently install it in just clicking on the links and following the download instruction so it is better for us to be careful all the time.

There are malicious contents and videos that now circulate on Facebook but if we take extra care in assessing which content is possibly a malware or scam, we can easily avoid from getting infected. Stay informed and share this post!